Plumber with Leaky Pipes

Plumber with Leaky Pipes

We have all heard the saying “plumbers have leaky pipes” because they just don’t see their own problems and they get paid to fix leaks in pipes. As a real estate agent I go into people’s homes, and with the help of a stager, I tell them that they need to update their flooring, windows, light fixtures, clean, and the list goes on.  Around my house, my wife Kelly said last month “we need to change these light fixtures, I can’t look at them anymore”.  Well, we had been living with them for 25 years and they seemed fine to me. A matter of fact, one of them was an original from when the house was built in 1947.  There are so many reasons why people don’t change out fixtures in their homes.  It’s the leaky pipe issue: they work fine, I’m comfortable with them, why spend money on a perfectly paid for light? The reason this is top of mind for me is because I was just in a million-dollar house and it hadn’t been updated in 35 years.  It was so “retro” that the fads were coming back into style. Now the location was outstanding and the “bones” were excellent, however, it would have brought so much more in today’s market if the property had been updated over time.  Buyers today want “move in” condition. Did you know that antique stores have just about gone out of existence due to the younger generations not wanting anything to do with “old, lead paint stuff”?  Today’s Buyer will pay premium dollar for ready to go, move in ready homes.  For the home owner, the key is “over time”.  When you update, you will enjoy the updates; if you’re wise, they will stay in style until you sell or decide to replace them. One of the most common occurrences that I see when I come in and suggest improvements to get top dollar for a person’s house is that they don’t want to sell after they improve their home.  I often hear, “I wish we would have done this years ago”.  The funny thing is that I feel the same way about our new kitchen and bathroom lights.  Should have done this a long time ago.  So, when you walk around your house, even if you’re not thinking of selling, walk around with the eyes of a Buyer.  What are some things that could be done that will add to the enjoyment of your home, add to the value, and not be overwhelming 25 years from now?  I am always available for free consultations and I can provide you with the name of an amazing interior decorator as well. Whether you are selling your home now or five years from now, please just ask. I have attached a couple of pics of the old light (retro 1947) and a couple of new ones we replaced them with. Happy house updating, and fix those leaky pipes!

ceiling new1947 light

Leave a Reply

